Small insight

Here a small insight of “The Inquisitor” I hope you will like it!

As I opened the door I was surprised to see that Melek had been more active than I thought he would be. Throughout the room even more parchments and books lay opened and littered the floor. Where did he get all these I wondered? Had he plundered a convent’s library or what? Normally books were rare and only nobles or very rich men were able to collect them. Had the old count such a collection? Amazed I picked up one of the books from the floor. It was a kind of notebook. Was is Melek who had written it? I opened it. The illustrations and drawings were amazing, the handwriting clear and legible. It was written in Latin and I was flabbergasted at how he had analyzed, described and drawn the human body. He had illustrated the human eye through different angles, drawn the system of muscles attaching it and many more details. I was unable to believe that the human body looked like that from the inside.

I was fascinated but before I was able to look further into his writing, I heard Melek saying:

“And Inquisitor, found something heretic?” He just had entered the room.

“Not for me Melek…” I answered, still holding his work in my hands. I added “Sure there are people who would consider these drawings as something outrageous. God has created Man out of mud as we all know but I find it much more fascinating if God had created the human body in a so detailed… so difficult…” I wasn’t able to grab the words to express my astonishment.

“Yes, isn’t it? How amazing the human body is. So many details…” he paused for a moment to look down at his work “so complicated…” and before he continued he seemed to think if what would follow were his own words “… to create something so complex and yet still fragile and weak. I wonder how God was able to create such formidable work” said Melek in wonders and happy that he was able to speak about something he was fond of.

He even hadn’t notice Darius presence. I smiled.

“You will not become religious now, would you?” and he laughed. It was the first time I felt that even though we were so different in our ways of thinking, beliefs and our origins, we had something in common. We were still amazed of what surrounded us, may it be religious or not. We were both curious.

“New apprentice? “Melek grinned, waving at Darius.

”Sort of “I replied curtly.

“He is a bit young to be an apprentice“ Melek remarked.

“Yes, he is – but God has his own ways – His name is Darius by the way, and he is an orphan”

“Oh” Melek smiled “The inquisitor has a soft spot” I flashed my eyes at him. “Just joking” Melek added. I let it go because it was now more important to be on good terms with Melek as I needed his help. So I changed the subject.

“We should begin to talk to the refugees in the castle perhaps someone can give us a clue or give us information” and walked over to the door.

“Yes, that’s also my thinking. People confide in you, Inquisitor. I’m the Infidel so I’ll listen and take notes – agreed? ”

“Pf” I mumbled. Before we left the room, he picked up a leather bag in the corner, which he seemed to have prepared last night.

When we got to the main hall and the staircase, we saw that people had gathered in front of Lord Rinoel’s lodgings. Lord Rinoel’s guards were nervous, weapons at the ready. When we tried to reach the door to Rinoel’s rooms, we saw why those people had gathered there. It was evident that they were not only exhausted from their escape from the village but also, as I had already noticed yesterday, starving.

Leave a Reply

